Budgets are tight and librarians need to make tough decisions on which resources will best support the teaching and learning needs of their faculty and students. As we talked about this at networking meetings, we started to question, What are your favorite database? Which ones do the students use the most? If you could only have five databases which ones would you choose? Through discussion and responses from librarians at meetings and online surveys we got our answers – the result is a new set of cost-effective online database packages entitled “Essential Database Packages for Secondary and Elementary Schools.”
These packages include the most popular databases used by your students at the lowest possible prices. After working with our vendors we were able to get a savings of $6,594 over the list price with the secondary package and a saving of $1,762 in purchasing the elementary package. We’ll revisit the packages next year and possibly add or delete databases based on your feedback.
In addition, we will also be hosting free Webinars to members of CoSer 513 focusing on the use of specific online databases to support the curriculum and the Common Core Standards. Librarians will be encouraged to invite a teacher/collaborator to participate with them. A big thanks to all the librarians who helped us put these packages together.
Go to http://www2.lhric.org/libsys/Databases/OnlineCatalog513.pdf to see the full database catalog. “Essential Database Packages for Secondary and Elementary Schools” is on page 3.